How To Deal With The Inevitable Christmas Weight Gain

do-you-know-what-i-got-for-christmas

Let’s be honest with each other.  I’ll go first.  I’m a fitness trainer, fitness boot camp leader, fitness speaker, fitness coach, and fitness author of Christ Fit Fusion – The Fusion Of Spiritual And Physical Fitness and I have gained body fat over the Christmas season.  I don’t know how much because I go by the mirror and not the scale, but I can tell I’ve put on a few pounds.  Okay, now it’s your turn.  How much have you gained?  Not “have you?”  “How much?”  Even if you don’t know how many pounds, you know if it’s a little or a lot or somewhere in between.  Unless you are part of a tiny fraction of people, you will gain weight (body fat) during the holidays.

Our “Why” for doing and sharing Christ Fit Fusion is because, “Spiritually and physically you will weather the storms of life and perform much better when the sun shines when you are spiritually and physically fit (Christ Fit).”  For most, the holiday season is a storm when it comes to all the food around. From Thanksgiving through Christmas there is a plethora of parties, pies, cookies, and general overeating.  So what to do about it?

Honestly, it’s too late to do anything about this year unless you’ve already been proactive going into it.  It is what it is.  New Year’s Eve is right around the corner and most likely many of you reading this are already contemplating your New Year’s Resolutions.  Please stop. Have you ever stuck with a N.Y.R.?  Less than 10% ever do.

Your only resolution should be to live a life that produces positive results, both spiritually and physically.  When your goal is lifestyle you don’t have to have any other goals.  Living a “Christ Fit” lifestyle will help you fade the heat of the holidays and any other spiritual or physical storm you encounter.

Let me be your example.  Yes, I’m a fitness trainer and yes I’m in shape, but I’m not your typical hyper focused “check out my abs” fitness trainer. I’m in shape but I live in the real world and love real food including burgers, fries, and Cokes and even the Christmas cookies this time of year. However, I don’t eat like I’ve been eating lately all year round.  There’s lots of good food to eat during the holidays but there’s also plenty of sugar and fattening snacks and deserts as well.  I partake and I gain a little weight.  I don’t sweat it.  I train year round and eat well year round as well.  I have my cheat moments throughout the year but for the most part my “Dominant Characteristics” are healthy.  By living that way I can weather the holiday storm much better than if I eat like crap more than I should day in and day out.  I don’t have to worry about trying to lose weight after the holidays because my normal way of living and eating will naturally cause me to lose whatever body fat I’ve gained.

There is a whole list of spiritual and physical storms that we face during the course of our lives.  Spiritually we face personal spiritual battles and struggles.  For some it’s addiction, gossip, materialism, relationships, divorce, rebellious kids, the death of a loved one… and you can fill in your own blank.  Physically our storms can be anything from an injury, disease, flu, and again you can fill in your own blank.

Here’s the thing about storms.  Some are little showers and some are flat out frog stranglers.  Storms come in varying degrees of severity.  No matter what though, being Christ Fit allows me to weather any storm better than if I were not Christ Fit.  So whether it be a sprained ankle, a broken bone, a little weight gain, or a major spiritual attack I am ready.

So back to the title of this blog post, “How To Deal With The Inevitable Christmas Weight Gain.”  Don’t make any harsh resolutions.  Don’t get on some unsustainable “diet.”  Just start living right.  If you do you will naturally get into better shape and by this time next year you will be weathering this storm much better and gaining less body fat and loosing what you do gain much much faster.

It’s truly as simple as that.  Simple doesn’t mean easy.  It will definitely require discipline, sweat equity, accountability and some “sticktoitiveness” but the process is not complicated.

All you have to do is 1). Eat a healthy spiritually and physical diet 2). Exercise spiritually and physically and 3). Do them both consistently. That is the Christ Fit Fusion lifestyle and we’re happy to help you with the process if you want it.  Get your copy of Christ Fit Fusion – The Fusion Of Spiritual And Physical Fitness to get started.  If you’re in San Antonio we encourage you to get involved in one of our Christ Fit Fusion boot camps or personal training.  If you are not in the San Antonio area you are encouraged to contact us about our online training and coaching.

God bless you and get in touch if we can help in any way.  Even if you just want to be placed on our prayer list you are more than welcome to get in touch.  We look forward to hearing from you and working with you and hopefully you will be blessed from our blog posts and the Christ Fit Fusion journal.

http://www.ChristFitFusion.FIT  –  www.facebook.com/ChrsitFitFusion  –  www.Twitter.com/ChristFitMe  –  Instagram (ChristFitFusion)

Christmas-Weight-Gain

Leave a comment